The Tennessee Department of Labor & Workforce Development has issued notice of a change in its wage and premium report requirements.
Effective January 1, 2016, Tennessee law requires employers with ten (10) or more employees to file the portion of the wage and premium report that contains the name, social security number, and gross wages of each individual in employment electronically in a format prescribed by the commissioner.
Effective July 1, 2016, any employer subject to this provision that fails to file electronically as prescribed shall be assessed a penalty of fifty dollars ($50.00) for each month, or portion of a month, the report is past due. The total penalty shall not exceed five hundred dollars ($500.00).
Acceptable means of submission can be found at this link on the Department of Labor & Workforce Development’s Web site.
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact a member of the Crosslin tax team at 615.320.5500.